Security Plus (S+, S Plus)

SKU: NCX-CT-O-SP Category: Tags: ,

CompTIA Security Plus (S+, S Plus)

CompTIA Security Plus (also known as S+ and S Plus) is a global certification that validates the baseline skills you need to perform core security functions and pursue an IT security career.

CompTIA Security+ is the first security certification IT professionals should earn. It establishes the core knowledge required of any cybersecurity role and provides a springboard to intermediate-level cybersecurity jobs.

The Security+ class incorporates best practices in hands-on trouble-shooting to ensure security professionals have practical security problem-solving skills. Cybersecurity professionals with Security+ know how to address security incidents – not just identify them. This course teaches what successful students need to know.

This course prepares the student to sit the CompTIA Security Plus, S Plus, or otherwise known as S+ exam.


Security Plus (S+, S Plus) Training for CompTIA Certification

Course Objectives

  • Demonstrate knowledge and skills required to install and configure systems to secure applications, networks, and devices
  • Perform threat analysis and respond with appropriate mitigation techniques
  • Participate in risk mitigation activities
  • Operate with an awareness of applicable policies, laws, and regulations
  • Identify the principles of confidentiality, integrity, and availability

Pre-Requisite Knowledge Advisory

At least 2 years of IT Administration experience, with Security focus
Level of knowledge gained from, for example, CompTIA A+ class

Exam Required for CompTIA S+ Certification

To gain S+ certification, the student must pass the following exam:

  • Exam SY0-401 – CompTIA S+

Duration of exam: 90 minutes (90 questions)
Passing Score: 750

Security Plus (S+, S Plus) Course Outline

Module 1: Security Fundamentals

  • Security concepts
  • Risk management
  • Vulnerability assessment

Module 2: Understanding Attacks

  • Understanding attackers
  • Social engineering
  • Malware
  • Network attacks
  • Application attacks

Module 3: Cryptography

  • Cryptography concepts
  • Public key infrastructure

Module 4: Network Fundamentals

  • Network components
  • Network addressing
  • Network ports and applications

Module 5: Securing Networks

  • Network security components
  • Transport encryption
  • Hardening networks
  • Monitoring and detection

Module 6: Securing Hosts and Data

  • Securing Hosts
  • Securing Data
  • Mobile Device Security

Module 7: Securing Network Services

  • Securing Applications
  • Virtual and Cloud Systems

Module 8: Authentication

  • Authentication Factors
  • Authentication Protocols

Module 9: Access Control

  • Access Control Principles
  • Account Management

Module 10: Organizational Security

  • Security Policies
  • User Training
  • Physical Security and Safety

Module 11: Disaster Planning and Recovery

  • Business Continuity
  • Fault Tolerance and Recovery
  • Incident Response